ARGYLL AND BUTE COUNCIL

COMMUNITY SERVICES COMMITTEE

EDUCATION

25 AUGUST 2022

THE ELECTION OF TEACHER REPRESENTATIVES TO THE COMMUNITY SERVICES COMMITTEE

1.0 INTRODUCTION

1.1 The purpose of this report is to advise the Committee on the appointment of two non-voting teaching representatives to sit on the Community Services Committee to represent the teacher workforce.

2.0 RECOMMENDATION

- 2.1 The Community Services Committee is asked to:
 - a) Note the content of this report and endorse the appointments of Alison Palmer and Lorna Stewart as the representatives nominated as non-voting members of the Community Services Committee.

3.0 DETAIL

- 3.1 The constitution of the Council outlines that there should be two non-voting teachers elected by teaching staff employed in Local Authority schools in the Council's area to sit on the Committee where education matters are discussed.
- 3.2 Within Argyll and Bute Council the Community Services Committee has delegated authority to discharge the powers and duties as education authority.

4.0 CONCLUSION

4.1 Alison Palmer and Lorna Stewart have been nominated by teaching staff to represent them as non-voting members of the Community Services Committee for the duration of this Council.

5.0 IMPLICATIONS

- 5.1 Policy This is in keeping with the Councils Constitution.
- 5.2 Financial These posts are not remunerated.

- 5.3 Legal None
- 5.4 HR None.
- 5.5 Fairer Scotland Duty
 - 5.5.1 Equalities None.
 - 5.5.2 Socio-economic Duty None.
 - 5.5.3 Islands None.
- 5.6 Climate Change None.
- 5.7 Risk None.
- 5.8 Customer Service None.

Douglas Hendry - Executive Director with responsibility for Education Councillor Yvonne McNeilly - Policy Lead for Education

For further information contact: Fiona Ferguson, Director Support Officer Fiona.ferguson@argyll-bute.gov.uk